Municipality of Chatham-Kent Temporary Clear Cutting Bylaw

Click the link below to view the Chatham-Kent Temporary Clear Cutting By-law

12(b) – Motion by Councillor Hall re Woodlot Preservation
1. The temporary by-law presented to Council on February 11, 2013 be passed, effective immediately, and expiring 120 days from the date of passing, or when repealed by a further vote of Council. Furthermore, administration be authorized to adjust any dates, signing names and other minor administrative matters within the by-law.
2. Administration be directed to:
a) Consider an incentive program, with the goal of preserving woodlots in the community and providing land owners with tangible and flexible options for being included in the program.
b) Launch a full public consultation process with interested parties, including virtual meetings and opportunities for comment on the Let’s Talk Chatham-Kent portal.
c) Conduct an analysis of best practices for incentive programs and woodlot preservation across Ontario.
d) Revise and update, for Council’s consideration, the current natural heritage policy.
e) Revise and update, for Council’s consideration, the by-law from February 11, 2013.
f) Present to Council all summaries, findings, analysis, comments, feedback, updated policies and bylaws in a report with recommendations, within 90 days of this motion being approved.”
Council requested that parts of the motion be voted on separately.

To reach your Ward Councillor

Municipality of Chatham-Kent
315 King Street West, Chatham, ON N7M 5K8

Mayor Darrin Canniff

Councillors Councillors by Ward (

Ward 1  Mark Authier 519-436-3228

Ward 6 Michael Bondy 519-436-3246

Ward 2  Anthony Ceccacci 519-436-3206

Ward 6 Marjorie Crew 519-436-3218

Ward 4  Joe Faas 519-436-3208

Ward 6  Amy Finn 519-436-3216

Ward 5 Aaron Hall 519-436-3229

Ward 1  Melissa Harrigan 519-350-8254

Ward 6  Karen Kirkwood-Whyte 519-436-3209

Ward 2  Maryclare Latimer 519-436-3207

Ward 4  Jamie McGrail 519-436-3221

Ward 6  Brock McGregor 519-350-2537

Ward 5  Carmen McGregor 519-350-3659

Ward 3  Steve Pinsonneault 519-436-3253

Ward 6  Doug Sulman 519-436-3234

Ward 2  Trevor Thompson 519-350-3715

Ward 3  John Wright 519-436-3252